Tornado 5/20/13

The rain was pouring down yesterday. Listening to the thunder rumble from one horizon to the next, fading as it went, I thought of the rescue workers in Moore, Oklahoma – just 45 minutes from here. I love to hear the rain splashing down on the sod, once suffering from a severe Oklahoma drought, now green with promise; yet, I think perhaps the sky was raining down tears for the people who lost homes and loved ones.

May 20, 2013 hosted one of the most devastating tornadoes Oklahoma has ever seen. One newscaster, while watching live footage from a helicopter, even suggested it was the worst tornado in the history of the world. A one and 1/2 mile wide swath of destruction – on the ground for over 45 minutes, traveling 17 miles – from Newcastle to Draper Lake, and leaving crumbling piles of debris, fire, death and heart ache in it’s wake.

0520b

We gathered in the living room and watched News Channel 4 as they followed the tornado from beginning to end. Our brother, sister-in-law, nephew, and niece live in that area and we were anxiously awaiting news from them. Jesse picked the children up from the baby sitter and headed to their storm shelter. (Click here for a cute story about that. :) Only 1/2 a mile away, the tornado passed them by.

Thankfully, the fatalities aren’t as many as was originally thought, but 24 people lost their lives and over 300 are injured. My heart goes out to these families, some having lost everything.

Today, the sun is shining and the sky is a deep Colorado blue, reminding us that dark, stormy days don’t last forever. I don’t know why things like this happen, but I have to trust that there is a reason. I pray the people affected by this tornado will be warmed by the sunbeams and be comforted in knowing that God is still in control and He watches out for those who love Him.

Psalm 91

He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the LORD, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust. Surely he shall deliver thee from the snare of the fowler, and from the noisome pestilence. He shall cover thee with his feathers, and under his wings shalt thou trust: his truth shall be thy shield and buckler.

Thou shalt not be afraid for the terror by night; nor for the arrow that flieth by day; Nor for the pestilence that walketh in darkness; nor for the destruction that wasteth at noonday. A thousand shall fall at thy side, and ten thousand at thy right hand; but it shall not come nigh thee. Only with thine eyes shalt thou behold and see the reward of the wicked.

Because thou hast made the LORD, which is my refuge, even the most High, thy habitation; There shall no evil befall thee, neither shall any plague come nigh thy dwelling. For he shall give his angels charge over thee, to keep thee in all thy ways. They shall bear thee up in their hands, lest thou dash thy foot against a stone. Thou shalt tread upon the lion and adder: the young lion and the dragon shalt thou trample under feet.

Because he hath set his love upon me, therefore will I deliver him: I will set him on high, because he hath known my name. He shall call upon me, and I will answer him: I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him, and honour him. With long life will I satisfy him, and shew him my salvation.

8 thoughts on “Tornado 5/20/13

  1. Pingback: Fresh Mint Ice Cream with Honey Caramel Sauce | Stir It Up!

  2. I literally just passed through Moore 10 minutes ago….. The devistation that can be viewed from I35 is unbelievible. It is a miracle and only by God’s mercy there weren’t more deaths but my heart aches for those who lost loved ones. I’m praying The Lord uses this to bring many to Himself!

    He healeth the broken in heart, and bindeth up their wounds. Psalms 147:3

    • Amen!
      You passed through Moore on I-35 yesterday?? You were only moments from our house if you were driving back from Kansas! Give us a call sometime when you’re headed through – We’d love to see you all!

      • I definitely will!!! We would love to see you all too. :) I always think about all you ladies when I drive through the area {we travel to Kansas City quite often!}

Leave a Reply

