19 thoughts on “What You Should Know About Your Favorite Places – Starbucks, Target and Amazon

  1. THANK YOU, Sarah!!! I was so thankful to see this post. My family has stopped buying from several brands/store, starbucks and target being a couple, because of their public support of gay marriage or abortion but I hadn’t heard about amazon. Good to know!
    Yes, so true! Christians need to really consider where they are spending their money…. It may not make a difference from a worldly view but I am convened it definitely will make a difference spiritually! Ephesians 6:12
    Thank you again!

      • Accepted by whom?

        Forgive me, but how I understand the position of the homosexuals I know, they just want to be legally married. In the same way that I, an atheist, can be legally married to my agnostic girlfriend. They don’t particularly care about you (the general you) accepting them than I imagine you care about them accepting you.

      • That confuses me a bit – as to why they want to be legally married… I recently read a post about marriage and found an interesting comment below it. “I know I’ll never get married. For various reasons. Such as, it’s a religious statement, made on a religious building, and I’m not religious.”
        There’s truth to that. God is the One Who came up with marriage in the first place – “Haven’t you read,” [Jesus] replied, “that at the beginning the Creator ‘made them male and female,’ and said, ‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh’? So they are no longer two, but one. Therefore what God has joined together, let man not separate.” Matt 19:4-6
        So if God created marriage and said that homosexuality was an abomination to Him (Lev. 18:22), why do the homosexuals want marriage to “seal” their ungodly relationships?

        (Of course, then we can get into what marriage was created to be and what the government has made it, but that’s almost a topic of it’s own. :)

        As to why I think they want to be accepted, I address that in this post – https://seekinghisreality.wordpress.com/2012/09/07/a-christ-followers-view-of-homosexuality-today/
        Perhaps you are right, and they don’t care about acceptance at all, but their actions communicate the opposite to me.

        Thanks for commenting!

      • “why do the homosexuals want marriage to “seal” their ungodly relationships?”

        Because legal marriage is not about your god. Just like Jewish marriage is not about your god. Or Muslim marriage. Or Mormon marriage. Or secular marriage.

      • No, you’re right. Legal marriage is about the god of government. Marriage was created to be between one man and one woman with the Creator as the head. Marriage today is a contract between two people with the government giving permission. Personally, I think it should have another name as it really has nothing to do with original marriage and just confuses conversations like this. :)

      • I think the Romans, Greeks and Egyptians would have a long talk with you about ‘original marriage’. As well as women who don’t want to be one of multiple wives (original, and in the Bible) and women who don’t want to be viewed of as property or forced to marry someone who has raped them. (Again, both in the Bible.)

      • I not going to pretend to understand everything in the Bible, this passage included. I don’t believe multiple wives were part of God’s original plan, nor was rape before marriage, or many of the things that get addressed in the Old Testament. They were addressed because “all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.” (Rom 3:23) In Mark 10 Jesus says that the law of divorce was written because of “hardness of heart” in the people. I think that was the case with many of “the rules”. They were written, not because they were God’s perfect plan, but because men sin. All sin has consequences, and these things had to be dealt with.

  2. Pingback: We Aren’t a Free Nation, We’re a Passive Nation | Deeper Still...

Leave a Reply

