Peripheral Vision

“Peripheral vision enables us to be aware of our surroundings while remaining focused on our destination. What we see from “ the corner of our eye” can be useful, unless it distracts us from our goal”David McCasland (RBC Ministries)

Distractions – that’s exactly what I’ve been peering at, and my, do they look like formidable, daunting trials! “I can’t count them joy and I won’t even try”, my stubborn little self pouts. “Well, maybe 85%, but definitely NOT 100% – I want to leave room to moan and groan over the ‘injustices of life'”, it reasons.

That’s where peripheral vision, focus…and cameras come in. Razz

You know when you look through the lens and focus on the tiny redbud how all the leaves and twigs go fuzzy around it? But then try zooming in on the mosquito perched on that unassuming leaf right next to the bud. Yikes! It’s huge! It’s nasty! It’s gonna eat me alive!
Wait a minute! You couldn’t even see it a second ago when the focus was on the flower. It was too blurry and rather non-consequential, right?

That’s how it is on life’s path, I’m learning.
“Let thine eyes look right on, and let thine eye-lids look straight before thee…turn not to the right hand nor to the left.” Pro. 4:25

When I do that – focus on Christ and His will for me – I find the trials around me diminish in size. Focus on them, and they magnify – drastically.

Merriam-Webster’s defines peripheral as only slightly connecting with what is essential or important; merely incidental. Yes, our trials are connected because Yahweh uses them to make us into His image, but they are not – should not be – the point of focus by any means.

Where is our focus today? Let’s endeavor to keep the peripheral on the sidelines where it’s supposed to be and mind the One Who matters.

One thought on “Peripheral Vision

Leave a Reply

