Follow Your Heart?

I came across a quote from a Christian life coaching website called  Follow Your Heart.

“Are you at a crossroads in your life, or do you recognize your life is missing something? Are you in transition towards a new phase of your life? Have you always wanted to follow your heart and be the person you were meant to be? Listen to the still small voice in your heart–now is your time!”
I’ve heard it over and over again from Christians – Follow your heart… Listen to your heart… Do what your heart says. It sounds good doesn’t it? Surely our heart won’t lead us down the wrong road…or will it?

The Sunday Resurrection Dance is being performed all over the world this year. The lyrics for one part of the song are, 
When something in you, says you’re
not through, something whispers, you
need to go, too
You say that things just can’t stay this
way, your heart is calling may day may
day
World is just trouble, get out of your
muddle, jump, now’s the time, take your
chance on the double.
Leave it behind, you’ll see you won’t
mind, once you meet Jesus the answer
you’ll find
Dont google your noodle, or consult
your poodle, just follow your heart and
it will be super. 

Good lyrics, right? There is no hope to be found in this world. Jesus is the only answer. But the question is, will our heart lead us to that place? 

King Solomon didn’t think so –

“He that trusts in his own heart is a fool” Pro. 28:26
“A fool has no delight in understanding, but that his heart may discover itself”. Pro 18:2
Solomon also discovered that following his heart was vanity and did not give him what he was looking for.

“I said in my heart, “Come now, I will test you with pleasure; enjoy yourself.” But behold, this also was vanity. I searched with my heart how to cheer my body with wine—my heart still guiding me with wisdom—and how to lay hold on folly, till I might see what was good for the children of man to do under heaven during the few days of their life.
I kept my heart from no pleasure, for my heart found pleasure in all my toil, and this was my reward for all my toil. Then I considered all that my hands had done and the toil I had expended in doing it, and behold, all was vanity and a striving after wind, and there was nothing to be gained under the sun.”  Ecclesiastes chapter 2,  selected verses.
 Jeremiah differed as well –
The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it? Jeremiah 17:9
And Jesus Himself said in Matthew 15:19 that “out of the heart proceed evil thoughts, murders, adulteries, fornication, thefts, false witness, blasphemies”. 
Proverbs 22:15 says, 
“Foolishness is bound in the heart of a child; but the rod of correction shall drive it far from him.” 
Thankfully God is gracious. We don’t have to live with these foolish,  fleshy hearts that are deceitful and wicked. God says,

A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you an heart of flesh. Eze. 36:26

And I will give them an heart to know me, that I [am] the LORD: and they shall be my people, and I will be their God: for they shall return unto me with their whole heart. Jer 24:7

But, what has caused us to believe this lie to follow our hearts? This lie will surely lead us down the path of destruction! Every lie has a grain of truth hidden within it in order for it to be believed and adopted as truth. Many people in history with evil agendas knew this quite well. Wicked people today know it and use it daily to break down the walls of Christianity. Even some pastors and prophets – wolves in sheep’s clothing – use this strategy.
Thus says the Lord of hosts: “Do not listen to the words of the prophets who prophesy to you, filling you with vain hopes. They speak visions of their own minds, not from the mouth of the Lord. They say continually to those who despise the word of the Lord, ‘It shall be well with you’; and to everyone who stubbornly follows his own heart, they say, ‘No disaster shall come upon you.’” Jer. 23:16-17

We must take the admonishment of Proverbs 4:23 seriously,  “Guard your heart above all else, for it determines the course of your life.”  

We must “take diligent heed to do the commandment and the law, which Moses the servant of the LORD charged you, to love the LORD your God, and to walk in all his ways, and to keep his commandments, and to cleave unto him, and to serve him with all your heart and with all your soul.” Joshua 22:5
We must follow Yahweh! “If you fully obey the LORD your God and carefully follow all his commands I give you today, the LORD your God will set you high above all the nations on earth”. Deut, 28:1

Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.
In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.
Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear the LORD, and depart from evil. 
Proverbs 3:5-7

One thought on “Follow Your Heart?

Leave a Reply

