Savor God

“Thou savourest not the things that be of God, but the things that be of men.” Mark 8:33
I read this verse several months ago in my daily Bible reading. I’ve probably read this particular verse several dozen times, but it wasn’t until this day that it actually hit me. Do I savor the things of God? What exactly are the “things of God”? And what, really, is “savoring” anyway? Peter was being rebuked because he did not savor the things of God – could Christ rebuked me today for that same attitude?
I was convicted. Even before answering all these questions, I knew that I was guilt. Deep down I already knew what the things of God were. His Word, for one. The people He has put in my life, the trials that I knew I should be counting as joy, the path that He has given me to walk, my relationship with Christ and with each member of my family…  And even deeper down, I knew that savoring isn’t exactly the term I would use to describe my feelings for these “things of God”…not all the time anyway. Yeah, pick the right date and the right micro-second and I might simply, isangelously, be savoring everything in that moment. I feel sorry for the person trying to catch that perfect moment though! Talk about waiting a life away…
The things of God… Wow! That encompasses so much! 
It’s the little things – like a radiant sunset, or a warm breeze on your cheek, a cup of cool water, a hug, a smile, a thoughtful gesture. 
It’s the hard things – physical pain, tough relationships, trials, road blocks and shut doors. 
It’s the huge things – reaching a milestone, overcoming a tribulation, heart healings and forgiving others and ourselves. It’s God’s mercy, compassion and eternal love. It’s all that Christ gave to us as an example so that we could go and do likewise to those around us.
If we believe that God is in control of ever aspect of our life, then we must believe that everything in our path is a “thing of God” and savor it as such. It’s a tall order, but our God is a Great God and He promises to give us the strength we need to do it. 
“For this commandment that I command you today is not too hard for you, neither is it far off.” Deuteronomy 30:11
The act of savoring God, according to Strong’s, is to “set one’s mind” on God, “to have a certain attitude”, as the one we should have toward God and His Word, “To be like-minded” with God, and to “set your affection on” God. But it was Webster’s definition that really lit me up inside –
power to excite or interest
to perceive with relish
to give one’s self to the enjoyment of
More questions flooded my mind – Do I perceive my God, my Creator, with relish? Do I give myself over to the enjoyment of my God? Does His Word excite me? Is my greatest interest Him?
How I wish I could have shouted a resounding “Yes” to those questions! I wanted it, Yes, I wanted it more than anything. Savoring God seemed to me, the key to what I had been seeking – true joy.
Now, months later, I know that savoring God, delighting in Him and relishing His Ways and Words is the key to true joy and happiness. It is the key to a fulfilled life.
“Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in Thy presence is fullness of joy; at Thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.” Ps. 16:11

“Acquaint now thyself with Him, and be at peace: thereby good shall come unto thee.” Job 22:21

“Delight thyself also in the LORD; and He shall give thee the desires of thine heart.” Ps 37:4
Reading through His Word, time after time, I see our God pleading with us, His people, “delight in Me, savor Me, trust Me, seek Me, have faith in Me, turn to Me, live for Me”. “I will be your Joy, your Peace, your Comfort, your Healer, your All in all.”
That right there is something to savor! We have a God who wants us! He wants us to love, adore and cherish Him. He wants us to look to Him when we’re hurting, tired, angry, in pain or happy, thankful and excited about life. He wants a relationship with us. He wants to fulfill us and He knows He is truly the only One who can. You know why? Because that’s the way He made it.
I know it’s not easy. There are times when we would just rather feel sorry for ourselves. We think we deserve a little compassion and sympathy, or at least a pity party. But let’s encourage each other to press onward and upward – to savor the things of God!

6 thoughts on “Savor God

  1. What can I say! God has used you to touch me! He has filled you with His Word to pour out on me. I DO find it hard to "Savor" all things of God, especially the hard things like showing joy when I am heartbroken. But I know He wants me to show others that I Believe and that means showing JOY! Not being a SAD U SEE! To see the rainbow in the storm! The silver lining around the clouds. The butterfly in the weeds! The hugs and kisses when we are sick! HIS children have much to "Savor"! You are RIGHT! The long wait I am in hurts, but I am learning much and have new friends that came to comfort me! Friends are something from God to "Savor"! But the pain and the wait are to be "savored" too! During it all, He has held me close and I have learned that HE wanted me to know that it not always good for parents to be able to "FIX" it all! I "savor" that HE taught me to GET OUT OF HIS WAY and let Him teach my children a thing or two through some hard knocks that would mature them mentally and spiritually! I have "savored" the "impossibles for man that I see "possible" for God, like bringing my son back to the fold!Now I "savor" this message from God to me! Thank you for being obedient to share it!

Leave a Reply

