Wait Training

“Hurry up and wait” seems to be the protocol for most Americans today. We can’t wait to start school, then we can’t wait to graduate, then we can’t wait to be an adult, get a great job, get a better job and get a raise . We can’t wait to get married, have kids, go to their wedding, become grandparents, retire…and the waiting goes on and on. Once we get what we want we move on to waiting for something else. Are we forever doomed to this treadmill of waiting?
The other night I was thinking of how tired I was of waiting when a question popped into my head…
“What are you waiting for?”
And I sat there thinking…yeah, what am I waiting for? It was a light bulb moment for me – I had just discovered counterfeit waiting.
“Well”, I stumbled clumsily over my thoughts, “I’m waiting for God to do this in my life. I’m tired of waiting and I want to start living. Yeah…that’s it! I want to live purposefully and do all this stuff for God and He’s just making me wait.”
“Don’t wait your life away. Start living now. Today. This minute. What are you waiting for?”
I realized this waiting – my counterfeit waiting – was actually just a cover-up for discontent and covetousness. Horizontal waiting, as I call it. I’m “waiting” for the something, anything – just the next thing in life to happen, which means I’m discontent with this thing in my hand right here, right now.
God put me here and He said “Live” and here I am, this little Pinocchio, saying, “But, God, I can’t live like this. I want to be married. Or I want to have children. Or I want a better job. I’ll just wait God, I know You’ll make it happen.” So we close our eyes to what is right in front of us – to the miracle staff in our hand – and we “obediently” wait. And we wonder why God isn’t giving us a spouse, or a job, or children. And we start to fret and wonder some more. And we really aren’t waiting at all, we’re just wanting and wanting and wanting something else.
But wait a minute, you say! God tells us to wait in His Word!
And you are right. You are so right! God tells us over 30 times to wait on Him. So what on earth am I getting at?
Every time we are told to wait in the Bible, it specifically says to wait ON (or sometimes FOR) Yahweh. Vertical waiting. In other words, we’re looking up and saying “What, Lord? I’m here, I’m ready, I’m listening. And I will wait here for as long as You see fit for me to wait.”, as opposed to looking at our situation – on our level – and “waiting” for God to “make it better”. He’s here and now and He put us here and now. Don’t you think that’s kinda where He wants you?
Webster’s dictionary has this definition on wait
    To watch; to observe; to take notice. To stay or rest in expectation; to stop or remain stationary till the arrival of some person or event; to rest in patience; to stay; not to depart. To stay for; to rest or remain stationary in expectation of; to await; as, to wait orders. One who watches; a watchman.
That’s the kind of waiting I’m talking about! To observe our God. To rest in expectation of His ways, to remain stationary in Him, to await His orders with patience, to notice God, to be in attendance to Him – at His feet, to stand in stick-to-it-ive-ness where He put you, to wait on Him. Forget ourselves! Forget what we want out of life, what we are waiting for in life, what we think should happen in life and just rest and hope in our Powerful, Amazing, Omni-potent, Almighty, Omni-present Creator!
“And now, Yahweh, what wait I for? My hope is in Thee.” Ps. 39:7

“Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.” Ps. 27:14

4 thoughts on “Wait Training

  1. You are so right. I think to often I find myself looking around at where I am and waiting for Yahweh to change something instead of living to my fullest potential right where He has placed me. Thanks for this.

  2. You say things with words that bring understanding! Thanks! If you were waiting to do some stuff for God, well you are now! This blog! He is using it for His glory! He just spoke to me!Pray and write for Him!

  3. Pingback: Speaking of Waiting… | Helping Hurting Parents of Prodigals

Leave a Reply

